American Center for Sustainable Certifications

Effective "value-added" audits with more logical audit durations!

American Center for Sustainable Certifications (ACSC) is an internationally accredited third-party registrar that specializes in the certification of management systems, with a focus on sustainability.


At ACSC, we hope to create a future where efficiency is a priority and waste is a thing of the past. The main reason ACSC was founded was to provide the industry with efficient, value-added, and lower cost third-party certifications with a focus on sustainability.

Our auditing staff has over 50 years of combined experience with environmental, safety, and quality management systems; we have been conducting ISO audits internationally since 1998. By working with ACSC, you will receive an assessment conducted by educated and experienced professional auditors with strong backgrounds in quality, sustainable practices, regulatory compliance, and effective EH&S and quality controls.

Our auditors are Professional Environmental Engineers (PE), Certified Hazardous Materials Managers (CHMM), Certified Quality Auditors (CQA), Chemists, and Biologists who all have a scientific past and passion for a sustainable future that is invaluable in an auditing experience. You’ll find that our independently certified auditors will ensure you’re getting a great experience for a lower cost.

ACSC is accredited as a Quality (ISO 9001: 2015) and Environmental (ISO 14001:2015) Management System Certification Body through the International Accreditation Service (MSCB-205), and will soon be accredited for Occupational Health & Safety (ISO 45001:2018) management system certification. We offer independent third-party certification services to the three core ISO standards. Our focus is to add value and seek conformance during our audits, as well as to minimize unnecessary audit durations.

Small business. Big results.

ACSC’s roots lie in providing a service which is affordable and valuable for all businesses. We have structured our quotation process to ensure that our customers receive value-added management system services with reasonable audit durations, while meeting the requirements of the IAS and IAF.

ACSC’s audit and corrective action follow up fees are among the most competitive in the third-party certification industry.

Realistic Approach

There is no need for an audit to be agonizing. ACSC auditors are trained to seek evidence of conformance during an audit, not search for nonconformance! Our philosophy is that a management system works for the benefit of the client and audits serve only the purpose of improving its value.

IAS Internationally Accredited

The International Accreditation Service (IAS) is a multi-disciplinary accreditation body based in North America. As one of the leading accreditation bodies in the United States, IAS is a signatory to the three primary international organizations that form a unified system for evaluating and recognizing competent accreditation bodies worldwide known as the International Accreditation Forum (IAF). These organizations are identified as “cooperations” because they have agreed to cooperate with one another by adhering to a common set of accreditation criteria and to undergo periodic onsite evaluation to determine ongoing compliance with ISO/IEC Standard 17011, General Requirements for Accreditation Bodies Accrediting Certification Body's (CB's) or Registrars. Being a “signatory” means that IAS has been evaluated onsite at its offices, a sampling of the assessments of its accredited entities have been witnessed by peer experts, and that it has been found to comply with international requirements.

These organizations agree to recognize the equivalence of accreditation's granted by other signatory member accreditation bodies through a series of Mutual (or Multilateral) Recognition Arrangements (MRAs/MLAs). Once an accreditation body becomes a signatory it is obligated to recognize the certificates or reports issued by CB's accredited by all other signatories within a specified scope.

IATF 16949:2016

Sanctioned Interpretation #8 on ISO 9001:2015 Certification

Effective July 2018, certification to ISO 9001 through third-party audits; unless otherwise specified by the customer, suppliers to the organization shall demonstrate conformity to ISO 9001 by maintaining a third-party certification issued by a certification body bearing the accreditation mark of a recognized IAF MLA (International Accreditation Forum Multilateral Recognition Arrangement) member and where the accreditation body’s main scope includes management system certification to ISO/IEC 17021.

Quality Policy Statement (PDF)

Impartiality Policy Statement (PDF)